It's Gosu logo
E-sports for Everyone

 
 

Articles

March 28, 2012

IG Monthly Madness Invitational – Complete!

More articles by Ayesee »
Written by: Ayesee

It's Gosu eSports is today proud to announce our first Dota2 tournament series, “Monthly Madness,” sponsored by Twitch.tv.

Monthly Madness will be a $1,000 winner-take-all, single elimination bracket style tournament taking place in March. With this tournament, though, It's Gosu is taking a unique approach to the tried and true invitational format, allowing four teams to play their way into the competition via two open qualifiers to be hosted on consecutive weekends in February. It's our hope that this format will help bring a greater level of involvement and excitement to the amateur and semi-professional elements of the current Dota2 community, and will provide a way for teams who're looking for their chance to break into the realm of professional eSports to get involved and play their way into the spotlight.

All of the action will be brought to you by the It's Gosu casting crew, led by well known Starcraft II caster-now-turned-Dota2-caster GoSu.Ayesee.

 


The tournament will mark the first official collaboration between It's Gosu eSports and Twitch.tv. Concerning the collarboration, Ben "FishStix" Goldhaber, TwitchTV Outreach Manager, had the following to say:

"While relatively new on the scene, It's Gosu has quickly proven to be a diverse and agile eSports institution. We're happy to announce that TwitchTV is the official sponsor of It's Gosu's next round of Dota 2 and League of Legends events, and a supporter of the team."


Finals

March 29th - Counter Logic Gaming vs Absolute Legends (18:00 CET / 12:00PM EST)

 

Final Four

March 25th - Evil Genuises vs Counter Logic Gaming (19:00 CET / 1:00PM EST)

March 26th - Absolute Legends vs Na'Vi (17:00 CET / 11:00AM EST)

 

Round of 8

March 14th - It's Gosu eSports vs Na'Vi (20:00 CET / 3:00PM EST)
View the VODs of this match by clicking here! 

March 15th - Counter Logic Gaming vs Darer (17:00 CET / 1:00PM EST)
View the VODs of this match by clicking here! 

March 16th - Quantic Gaming vs EG (20:00 CET / 4:00PM EST)
View the VODs of this match by clicking here! 

March 20th - mTw vs Absolute Legends (17:00 CET / 12:00 PM EST)

 

Round of 16

March 1st - Team Dignitas vs mTw (19:00 CET / 1:00PM EST)
View the VODs for this match by clicking here! 

March 2nd - NEXT.kz vs EG (17:00 CET / 11:00AM EST)
View the VODs of this match  by clicking here! 

March 3rd - Absolute Legends vs Water (18:00 CET / 12:00PM EST)
View the VODs for this match by clicking here! 

March 3nd - It's Gosu eSports vs Western Wolves (21:00 CET / 3:00PM EST)
View the VODs for this match by clicking here! 

March 4th - Complexity vs Darer (21:00 CET / 3PM EST)
View the VODs for this match by clicking here! 

March 5th - Na'Vi vs 4 Friends (18:00 CET / 12:00 PM EST)
View the VODs for this match by clicking here! 

March 7th - Mousesports vs Counter Logic Gaming (20:00 CET / 2:00PM EST)
VODs unavailable due to encoding errors! Sorry! 

March 8th - Quantic vs Team Infused (21:00 CET / 3:00PM EST)
VODs unavailable due to encoding errors! Sorry! 

Information above is subject to change.

 


Teams Competing:

 

It's Gosu eSports

 

Na'Vi

 

Evil Geniuses

 

Dignitas

 

Counter Logic Gaming

 

Mousesports

 

Absolute Legends

 

mTw

 

Quantic


 

NEXT.kz

 

Western Wolves

 

Complexity

 

4 Friends + Chrillee

 

Water


 

Darer

 

Team Infused


 

Bracket:

Click here for a high-res version.




Open Tournaments:

For aspiring professionals-- or amateurs who just want to see how their skills stack up against the rest of the Dota2 community-- our two open tournaments will be taking place on the following dates:

IG Monthly Madness Open Qualifier #1 - February 18-19
COMPLETED!

IG Monthly Madness Open Qualifier #2 - February 25-26
COMPLETED!

It's Gosu Monthly Madness Open Qualifier tournaments are open to up 128 teams from all countries. All teams participating in these tournaments must adhere to all rules and regulations, and, upon signing up for these tournaments, acknowledge that understanding all rules, regulations, and associated times/dates for participation is their sole responsibility.

Each Monthly Madness Open Qualifier will span two days (Saturday-Sunday). The top two finishing teams in each open will earn qualifying spots in It's Gosu's $1,000 Monthly Madness Invitational.

Day 1:
Round of 128 - Best of 1
Round of 64 - Best of 1
Round of 32 - Best of 1
Round of 16 - Best of 1

Day 2:
Round of 8 - Best of 3
Round of 4 - Best of 3

Keep in mind that all of the above assumes we'll max out on teams... and we won't. If only 10 teams sign up we'll start in the Ro16, if only 28 the RO32, and so on. All teams will be randomly seeded.

Select games during all rounds will be casted at the discretion of It's Gosu's casting team and admins.

All casting and streaming will be done by It's Gosu eSports. Any unauthorized streaming by others involved in tournament play is strictly forbidden, and considered grounds for immediate disqualification.

 

The Reddit Connection:



The whole It's Gosu crew are big fans of Reddit, and as such want to involve our favorite web community in the process of making this tournament a success! To that end, we've been working closely with ReaverXai, admin of /r/dota2, and will be using his latest endeavor to assist players looking to find teams to compete in the open qualifiers!

Introducing: /r/CompDota2

This brand new subreddit will serve as a community hub and resource for all players and organizations interested in not only promoting their tournaments and in-house league, but in making sure everyone who wants a chance to compete at the highest level can find others to team up with and do so!

Teamless players interested in competing in the first Monthly Madness qualifier should head to this courtesy thread:

http://www.reddit.com/r/compDota2/comments/peu7q/team_its_gosu_monthly_madness_open_qualifier_team/

Good luck, and we'll see you on the river banks!

 

Concerning any questions or issues, please contact Aaron "Ayesee" Chambers by emailing info@itsgosu.com.

This tournament's official rules can be found by clicking here


Comments (5)

  • Mikey wrote

    oh my gosh what is that icon for us lol

    can we change it to this: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_RlSCmG_BrHo/TLdzrjOnizI/AAAAAAAAACE/kTpxNS8jDOc/s1600/water+droplet.jpg

  • Redmagejr wrote

    This looks like an awesome line up! Can't wait to see the matches.

  • sneakeee wrote

    Super excited!

  • dzrrhd wrote

    vod for navi v 4f?

  • PanicButton wrote

    Good luck both teams , the game will be streammed at www.absolutelegends.net/streams/763645/It%27s-Gosu . After the game feel free to ask a few questions to the players at AbsoluteLegend forums: www.absolutelegends.net/forums/threads/10684/ALDota-2--Ask-the-Team

Get a 7-Day Free Trial to FunPass.